top of page

Books That Make Me Want to Curl Up in a Ball and Cry My Eyes Out (In A Good Way)

I don't usually actually cry at books. Do I sob? Definitely. Cry actual tears? About Harry Potter, yeah. But other than that? Do you know those books that are so good and so sad that you just want to cry forever and possibly die and definitely keep on reading them forever? Yeah. Well, I have a few of those for you.

1) The Infernal Devices trilogy by Cassandra Clare

I've already talked about these a. lot. on this blog, but they're so tragtastic that I can't not mention them again. They are beautiful, perfect, and heartbreaking. Even though they're fantasy - and more than that, part of the Shadowhunters series - and you might not expect it, they're awfully romantic (in every sense of the word). Every time I read them again, I cry my eyes out at the ending.

2) Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

I'm going to try and explain the plot without giving away too many spoilers. It's about a guy who finds a set of tapes on his porch - tapes that a dead girl recorded, full of secrets about kids from their school, secrets that no one wants to get out. So this guy listens to the tapes, and as he listens to more and more of them, both his and the girl's stories get deeper and more tragic. And that's when I cry.

3) The Fault in our Stars

Kinda obvious, right? But it’s just so well written that you can actually feel the characters’ pain and… Gods. I love this book and it's so beautiful and I cry every time even though I already know what’s going to happen.

4) Eleanor & Park

I don't know if this is considered a sad book, but I hope it is, because I'm not an emotional person and this definitely made me cry. It's just so pure and cute and true...

Wow those descriptions got shorter with each book XD. But hopefully I haven't stopped you from reading any of these, because they're all amazing and this is just more of a reason to read them.

~A sobbing mess


Featured Review
bottom of page